International Learn to Swim Program

The International Learn to Swim Programme aims to provide a complete progressive aquatic pathway for learners of all ages to progress from their first aquatic experiences through to becoming safe proficient swimmers. The scheme aims to build on knowledge and skill development at each level and reward achievement through a range of exciting awards and certificates.



Octopus Series

An exciting series of 3 progressive awards specifically designed for children aged between 4 to 8 years old. This enables older children to access the Learn to Swim pathway and develop their confidence, knowledge and skills. We believe the best way to achieve this is to create safe environments in which children can be introduced to the water whilst having fun and by providing a progressive learn to swim programme that is both challenging and rewarding.

Goldfish Series

This programme is designed to be the next stage for swimmers who have progressed through either the STAnley First Steps Series or Octopus Series. The Goldfish series is an exciting series of 3 progressive awards expanding on skills in a fun, progressive, challenging and rewarding way. On completion of this series, swimmers will be able to swim distances without any aid as well as perform basic floats.

Angelfish Series

Once swimmers have completed the Goldfish Series they can progress to the Angelfish Series. On completion of the 3 progressive awards in this series, swimmers will be able to, perform butterfly stroke as well as mastering sculling techniques and entries to the water.

Shark Series

On completion of the Angelfish Series, learners progress to the Shark Series. This series educates learners in basic water rescue and survival techniques as well as starts and turns for each of the strokes.